Florida Book Awards-NEW!

The Florida Book Awards, coordinated by the Florida State University Program in American & Florida Studies -- and co-sponsored by the
Florida Center for the Book,
The State Library and Archives of Florida,
The Florida Historical Society,
The Florida Humanities Council,
The Florida Literary Arts Coalition,
The Florida Library Association,
“Just Read, Florida!,” the Governor’s Family Literacy Initiative,
Florida Association for Media in Education,
Florida Center for the Literary Arts,
Friends of the Florida State University Libraries, and
The Florida Chapter of the Mystery Writers of America

An annual awards program that recognizes, honors, and celebrates the best Florida literature published in the previous year.

Definition of Categories for the Competition

Except for category 7, all submissions must be in the English language

1. General Fiction, including short story collections (minimum 40,000 words)
2. Young Adult Literature (for ages 12-19), including poetry, fiction, and nonfiction books (with or without illustrations)
3. Children’s Literature (through age 11), including poetry, fiction, and nonfiction books (with or without illustrations)
4. Florida Nonfiction, including Florida history, biography, autobiography, or memoir (authors need not be current Florida residents; book’s content must primarily focus on Florida)
5. Poetry (including chapbooks over twenty pages; submissions must be by a single author)
6. Popular Fiction (including mystery, fantasy, romance, horror, science fiction, westerns, and adventure)
7. Spanish Language Book (including non-fiction, novels, young adult literature, children’s literature, and poetry for all ages).